SPORTS AWARDS: John Ross Galbraith wins Sportsperson of the Year

John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead) was named Sportsperson of the Year.
John Ross Galbraith (Whitehead) was named Sportsperson of the Year.

Whithead golfer John Ross Galbraith and Carrick Rangers Football Club were the big winners at the first-ever local sports awards on Friday night.

Galbraith, who won the North of Ireland competition last summer, walked away with the Sportsperson of the Year trophy, while Rangers were named Team of the Year following their historic treble in 2015.

Carrickfergus Town Hall was the venue for the gala bash, which was organised by Mid and East Antrim Borough Council and compered by BBC broadcaster, Joel Taggart.

Award winners

Hall of Fame: Bob Harper (sailing)

Manager / Coach of the Year: Colin de Fleury (Belfast Lough Sailability)

Services to Sport: Craig Bunting (Belfast Lough Sailability)

Veteran’s Award: Julie Wilson (hockey)

Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Ellen McCarlie (sailing)

School Sporting Performance of the Year: Christian Robinson (athletics)

Sportsperson / Team of the Year with a disability: Kenneth Cloke (table tennis)

Team of the Year: Carrick Rangers (football)

Sportsperson of the Year: John Ross Galbraith (golf)