Golfers on cue for league title success


Ballyclare Golf Club ‘A’ are closing in on their first-ever Larne and District Snooker title. A 4-1 win over second-placed Latharna means they only need a point from their final match to secure the championship.

J. McKay, S. Higgins, Darren Agnew and David Lyness all won for the golfers, with Latharna captain Ken McCord taking the last frame for his side.

St Comgall’s suffered a 3-2 defeat at Ballyclare Old Boys. The Saints have dipped in form since the latest handicap adjustments and have let a seven-point lead slip away since Christmas. Dean McDonagh and Alphonsus McIlwaine won the two frames for the visitors with Tommy Hart, Darren Vennard and Jackie Hogg chalking up frames for the home side.

The Point have also slipped up with a 4-1 defeat to Ballylumford. Graham Ferguson was the only winner for The Point, with Davy Irwin, David McAllister, Jim Magill and Paul Wylie winning for Lumford.

Q-Club ‘A’ continued their good form thanks to a 3-2 victory at St John’s. Michael Kane. R. McCrudden and Andy Lilley all won with Alex Robertson and A. McKee won for the home side.

Greenbank ‘A’ recorded a great result beating Carrick ‘B’ 5-0. P McCaffrey (23, 37), Davy Johnston, Maurice Williams, Davy Douglas and Wayne Harper all won for the Sunnylands side.

In the other matches, Carrick GC ‘A’ beat Linfield 3-2 and Ballyclare ‘B’ eased to a 4-1 success against Greenbank ‘B’.

This year’s league prize night will be held in Ballyclare Golf Club on Friday, May 29. There will be music and a buffet and all teams must give numbers to league secretary before the event.