Baker, McLoughlin and Bradley see off neighbours Greenbank


Larne and District Snooker League: Latharna have closed the gap to four points on leaders St Comgall’s after defeating St John’s 3-2. Raymond Weir, Jim Jackson (22) and Gavin Carmichael were all on target for Latharna, with Damian Todd and Dougie Long winning for the hosts.

Ballyclare Golf Club ‘A’ recorded a 3-2 win over club-mates Ballyclare ‘B’ in the derby match. Ian Wallace and Adam McIntyre gave the B team an early lead but Trevor Mairs, Stevie Higgins and Darren Agnew (31) won the next three to keep the A team in fourth spot.

St Comgall’s suffered only their third defeat of the season, losing 3-2 away at Q-Club A.

The Point remain third after their 10th win of the season, Graham Ferguson, Jim Boyle and Gary McNeill pocketed the crucial frames against Linfield. Raymond Forsythe and William Stewart took the last two for the Blues.

Ballylumford are into the top half with a 4-1 win over Q-Club ‘B’. P Wylie, Darren McNeill, Davy Irwin and David McAllister won their games with Colin Wilson responding for the snooker club.

Carrick Golf Club ‘A’ got the better of neighbours Greenbank B in Sunnylands. They won 3-2 thanks to Gavin Baker, Stevie McLoughlin and Ricky Bradley. Greenbank’s frames came courtesy of Cecil Scroggie and William McNeeley.

Carrick ‘B’ claimed a 3-2 win over Ballyclare OB with Glenn Gibney, W. Hill (Jnr.) and Mark McKnight chalking up successes. Darren and Noel Vennard won for Ballyclare.

The next league meeting is set to take place in St John’s on Monday, February 2 (7:30pm) when names are to be submitted for three-man teams.