Armstrong tops field at Carrick

John Armstrong’s 41 points saw him take top spot as Carrickfergus Golf Club hosted an Open Stableford competition sponsored by Cannon Motors on Saturday.

Thursday, 3rd September 2015, 7:00 am
Golf update

Low handicap winners were Gary Robinson (39 points), Stephen Lee (38 points) and John Moore, Warren Wright and Stuart McClurg - all 37 points.

High handicap winners were Graham Cully (39 points), and Paul Gibney, Brian Stark, Eddie Robinson and Mervyn Kane - all 37 points. Andrew Dillon was the Gross winner with 37 points.

Nearest the pin winners were J. Armstrong, G. Barbour, R. Culbert, J. Moore and G. McCrossan.

The winner of the Senior Scratch Cup, played over 36 holes, was Andrew Dillon, 141. Second was Jim McIlwaine with 142 and third Stephen McLaughlin with a score of 144.

A. Baker, J. Davoll, and K. Campbell won the Ladies’ Open Team competition in midweek. Second was H. Vizard, I. Ross (Lisburn) and V. Green.

Carrick lost 3-2 to Fortwilliam in both legs of their Holt Shield semi-final.