Work to restore an historic stained glass window that was damaged by thieves is nearing completion at a landmark Carrick church.
As the Times reported last month, one of the windows at St Nicholas’ Parish Church was damaged during a break-in attempt.
Meanwhile, two of the oldest wall memorials at the iconic building had also started to crumble.
However, work has been ongoing to restore the centuries-old church to its former glory .
A spokesperson from St Nicholas’ said: “We are pleased to report that the stained glass window being restored by David Esler of Leadlines should be in place again by the end of April in time for the Flower Festival in May.
“Stonemasons have removed two wall memorials and will be carrying out restoration work on these.
“One memorial is to the Gardner family and is the oldest in the church dating from 1682.
“The other was erected by the Johns family whose house stood on the land currently occupied by Carrickfergus Library.”
Meanwhile, St Nicholas’ are to host a ‘Valentine’s Victorian Afternoon Tea’ next weekend to meet the costs of the restoration work.
“In the true tradition of a Victorian afternoon tea there will be a musical accompaniment by Jenny McBride on harp and Martin Shane on flute with vocalist Richard McMaster,” the spokesperson added.
The event runs from 1pm-5pm on Saturday February 15; tickets cost £8 per person which includes afternoon tea and a tour of the church.
To book contact Jean on 07776 154 956, or email email@example.com